Grit, Determination, and One Huge Burning Desire

7 Sep

Jenna learning how to jump Freckles

Jenna learning how to jump Freckles

“I was wondering if I could sign my daughter up for lessons?” her mother asked.
“Has she ever ridden before?” I asked.
“Yes, at another farm, but my daughter used to love horses and riding and now she does not want to go. I am really concerned. The girls there are not nice to my daughter,” the mother explained.

If there is something I can say with full confidence- We are a Farm that supports each other. No mean girls here. I will not put up with it. I will ask riders to leave if they try to build factions or put others down. We are a farm that shows love to all and failure to do so results in swift repercussions.

I always evaluate riders before I put them with an instructor or in a lesson. I want to see what they know, how they handle themselves, and what they can do on a horse.

Jenna came with a big smile, but she was nervous and unsure of herself. She would almost shake if the horse looked at something, giving me an indication that she was afraid. She was on my placid, super sweet Pumpkin and one thing he will do is catch his rider. There was nothing to fear on the back of this beautiful Quarter Horse. She did not know how to work with the horse, her actions were forced and her breathing was fragmented showing me that she was facing a giant burden of fear.

I decided that she should ride on our wonderful, comfy couch Milkshake and take instruction from Miss Tori. Jenna fell in love with Miss Tori and with Milkshake. Within three months, this little girl went from fearful to showing Milkshake. She now jumps and canters. Jenna has conquered her fear because she has learned to trust in a famous four legged pal and a beautiful trainer that has a heart of gold.

Cleaning tack before the horse show, Jenna looked up at me and said, “Never fear, GOD is here!”

She has learned more about life, love, friends, and riding because she conquered a mountain of fear. Great job Jenna, our job has been fulfilled- you learned the most valuable lesson of all- that With God ALL things are possible!

Hey have you ever had to conquer a mountain of fear? Did you ever lose your confidence about something you loved? Please share!

Want to learn more about the farm that God built? Join our FB pages on ANYTHINGFORHORSEANDRIDER AND RAISEYOURDREAMSFARM and read more about this farm. I promise, you will be encouraged after reading each post!

Please support us by posting horses, unwanted tack, or your horse related business. Thanks!

3 Responses to “Grit, Determination, and One Huge Burning Desire”

  1. billgncs September 7, 2013 at 10:05 AM #

    horses are big and scary aren’t they, just like the world outside. Good job giving her a compensating skill to lean against.

    • anythingforhorseandrider September 8, 2013 at 6:05 PM #

      You are always so kind! Thanks for your comment. Yes, horses can be a bit intimidating, but I have never found one rider that does not have true grit and determination.

      With GOD all things are possible! *Check out Jill’s Blog on http://www.anythingforhorseandrider.com *www.facebook/anythingforhorseander.com 20% DISCOUNT for all ads!

      • billgncs September 8, 2013 at 11:00 PM #

        what’s that old cowboy saw: Ain’t made the horse that caint be rode, ain’t made the cowboy caint be throwed.

        šŸ™‚

        riding a horse is a wonderous thing.

Leave a Reply

