10 Questions Every Potential Horse Buyer MUST Ask Before Buying

13 Dec

Buying a horse can be a scary proposition. I still remember buying my first horse, I thought I was going to have heart failure.  I was nervous and sweating. Now that I have bought at least 30 horses, I guess you could say that I am no longer nervous, just savvy when it comes to getting a horse that will be the best fit.

Here are the questions that you need to ask and more importantly, listen to the answers. Try not to talk, listen to what the owner says voluntarily. Listening will open up avenues for them to speak even more.
1. What bit and saddle do you currently use?
2. How is the horse with the vet, the farrier, and the dentist?
3. What do you feed your horse?
4. Has the horse ever had colic or any other health issue?
5. Does the horse have any vices?
6. How is the horse with other horses, both in the field and in the ring?
7. How is the horse kept? (in a stall, run in shed, by themselves, with others,etc.)
8. What is the horse’s favorite activity?
9. How is the horse with being groomed, tacked up, ridden in the ring, on the trail, etc?
10. What is the most important thing that I should know about this horse?

Remember to never ask a question that leaves only a yes or no answer. Ask questions that are open ended and hear their answers with an open mind. Horses are like onions, they have layers and depths that are unlike any other animal. Getting to know a horse, your very own horse, can be the greatest journey you have ever been on.

Always discuss your questions and the answers that you receive from the owner with your trainer.  Your trainer can gain insight that you may not receive.

Remember leave a comment and enter a chance to win a prize! I LOVE to hear what you are thinking! Horses need to be loved and cared for and failure to be able to provide adequately for a horse can be both damaging to you and to the horse. If you are not financially ready to take on the costs of a horse, always consider leasing. Check out http://www.anythingforhorseandrider.com for lease horses available in your area.

Next article- the costs of owning a horse.  Then you will understand why they call this sport of the Kings!  For all of you horse lovers, don’t let it deter you, if there is a will, there is a way!  Be of great cheer, a longing fulfilled is like a tree of life.  Horse ownership has and always will be my greatest love.

6 Responses to “10 Questions Every Potential Horse Buyer MUST Ask Before Buying”

  1. Sean Pierce December 13, 2011 at 10:54 PM #

    I belive that a horse ‘s favorite activity is to talk to each other in there own way.or on a nice day walking around with there friends and have a nice time and eat.and lastly i belive they like to have the happy children ride them and have a great time.seeing new people.

    • anythingforhorseandrider December 13, 2011 at 11:24 PM #

      Yes, Sean, you are absolutely right! Horses do love to “talk” to one another. I see it everyday.

  2. Jennifer December 29, 2011 at 7:35 PM #

    This was very helpful! My husband and I would love to someday make this step, and this was helpful to know how to approach buying a horse and what questions to consider etc.
    Thank you!

    • anythingforhorseandrider December 30, 2011 at 10:35 PM #

      Hey Jennifer,
      I pray this email finds you in great health!! I thank you for your comment, you enter into the contest to get the gift card!! PLEASE continue to get my business out there. I have almost 2000 people looking a month!! Yippeeee!! I still need more people to post horses, tack and riding apparel. So if you should know anyone, please encourage them to post anything that they would like to sell! Also could you please let any of your horsey friends know that I am giving complimentary listings if they own a horse related business or service. Thanks for supporting me! Happy New Year! jill

  3. billgncs August 12, 2012 at 11:19 PM #

    the first horse I was involved in buying was in Wyoming some 25 years ago. The bill of sale read, One brown mare, 1 dollar and other considerations….

    she was the best horse I have ever known.

Leave a Reply

